Financial Services Council 2019 Award Winners


The industry’s top talent was recognised at the Financial Services Council 2019 Awards, held at a Gala dinner, as part of its Towards Wellbeing Conference on the 11-12 September.

In line with the conference theme, nominations were judged not only on their contribution to the industry, but by demonstrating how their work has contributed to the wellbeing of New Zealand.

FSC Chairman and awards judge, Rob Flannagan, said “with the Government focus on wellbeing and an industry focused on delivering the best possible consumer outcomes, the nominees this year really demonstrated how they are innovating and improving the world of financial services for the better of all New Zealanders.”

FSC Chairman and awards judge, Rob Flannagan
FSC CEO, Richard Klipin

New for 2019 was the FSC Chairman’s Award for Lifetime Achievement for an outstanding individual who has significantly contributed to the advancement, promotion and improvement of the Financial Services industry in New Zealand over the span of their career.

FSC Chief Executive, Richard Klipin, said “It is great to see so much talent in the industry. As financial services continues to be in the spotlight, it is even more important that the great work of those working to improve the wellbeing of Kiwi’s is recognised.”

The winners for the six FSC awards are:

  • Licensed Independent Trustee of the Year, Tim McGuiness, demonstrating innovation, performance and respect within the industry.
  • Improving Customer Outcomes, Bank of New Zealand, KiwiSaver, recognising products, services or campaigns that improve consumer outcomes.
  • Governance, Financial Services Council Culture and Conduct Committee, recognising excellence in governance for those operating in the financial services industry of New Zealand.
  • Emerging Leader, Mark Banicevich, recognising an industry professional who has demonstrated outstanding commitment, achievement and passion in the New Zealand Financial Services industry in the last 12 months.
  • Team of the year, Partners Life Marketing Team for the ‘Get Life Right’ campaign, recognising teamwork and improving consumer outcomes.
  • Innovation and Wellbeing, AIA for the ‘Vitality’ campaign, for promoting wellbeing, diversity and inclusion.
  • FSC Chairman’s Award, Susan Basile, to recognise an outstanding individual who has significantly contributed to the advancement, promotion and improvement of the Financial Services industry in New Zealand.

AIA New Zealand’s Chief Executive, Nick Stanhope, who was at the event to collect the Innovation and Wellbeing Award said, “We have a robust Diversity and Inclusion Strategy which sits in line with our proposition to reflect the community we serve and strive to help New Zealanders live healthier, longer, better lives.

“This includes making sure we have diversity in leadership, an inclusive culture and that we value our people as individuals with unique needs. We have a clear strategy and we’ve worked really hard to achieve it,” he added.

Klipin also presented a special award to recognise the work of the Workplace Savings NZ Chair and Counsellors for their tireless support of the superannuation industry.

The FSC and Workplace Savings NZ merged into a single organisation under the FSC banner from 1 July 2019 (see: FSC Merges With Workplace Savings NZ…).

“On behalf of the FSC Board, I would like to thank all the nominees and winners, and also the judging panel for their deliberations,” said Klipin.